[ Star Wars Books ]

[Star Wars Books RSS Feed][Star Wars Books Twitter][Star Wars Books Facebook]

Page updated: 1st August 2012
[A Guide to using Star Wars Books]
[Articles and Features]
[Release Schedule]
[The Old Republic]
[Rise of the Empire]
[The Clone Wars]
[The Rebellion]
[The New Republic]
[The New Jedi Order]
[The Legacy of the Force]
[Fate of the Jedi]
[Infinities Books]
[Book Reviews]
[Children's Books]
[Audio Books]
[Site Updates]
[Contact Us]
[] Bookmark and Share

[This story occurs during the Rise of the Empire era]
Events that occur 19 years before the Battle of Yavin.

[ The Desperate Mission ]

Paperback Youth Novel
Check availability & pricing at:



The Desperate Mission
Jude Watson
Scholastic Books
Story published as:
Paperback Youth Novel (2005)
e-Book (2012)

If you have read this book, please rate it:
1 review [Average review score: 3 / 5]

Following the events of Revenge of the Sith, the galaxy is a much different and much darker place. The Republic is no more, replaced by the seemingly unstoppable Galactic Empire. As far as the wicked Emperor Palpatine is concerned, the Jedi are all but extinct.
But on the remote planet of Tatooine, one Jedi Master remains. Obi-Wan Kenobi is in hiding, mourning the loss of his fellow Jedi, and devastated by the betrayal of his former Padawan. He has been tasked to watch over and protect a young child who may hold the key to the galaxy's salvation.
However, when Obi-Wan finds out that a former Jedi apprentice has survived, he must make a painful decision: whether to stay on Tatooine to preserve the future of the Jedi, or voyage into the heart of the Empire on one last desperate mission.

This story occurs between approximately six to seven months after the events of Revenge of the Sith (18 and a half years before the Battle of Yavin).

Related Stories (in chronological order):

Review by Bones, UK, 2012:

"Jude Watson's third Star Wars young readers' series begins with Obi-Wan Kenobi forced to give up his self-imposed exile on Tatooine in order to chase down rumours that Ferus Olin survived Order 66.
Several interesting things occur in this book. Firstly, we get to see Obi-Wan during his time on Tatooine as he maintains his vigil over the young Luke Skywalker, something which hadn't really been explored in novels before. We also get to find out what happened to Ferus Olin after he left the Jedi Order in the previous series; a loose thread that rather than tying up, Watson decides to draw into the new storyline.
As a beginning to a series, there are a few things that I'm looking forward to in future books, such as more of Obi-Wan's time on Tatooine, the continuing exploits of Ferus and expansion upon a titbit towards the end that relates to Vader that could potentially prove very exciting.
However, I hope the series doesn't turn into a set of variations on Obi-Wan leaving Tatooine to go off on a quest, as that really would defeat the object of his mission to safeguard Luke. I also thought that Ferus and Obi-Wan were a little too casual in revealing their Jedi pasts. Whilst Watson continually refers to them reluctant to let people know their true identities, they seem to use their Jedi abilities a little too readily. We know that Vader is hunting Jedi, as are his inquisitors. Jedi would therefore have to be significantly more discreet with their gifts if they wanted to remain alive.
A promising start to Watson's (currently) final series in the Star Wars universe."

Rating: 3 / 5

Do you agree or disagree with these reviews? Do you think that they have missed the point? Then why not review this story yourself? Click here.
[ www.swbooks.co.uk ]

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Contact | Print this page